overwhelmed: uncertain with everything and everyone

Hello everyone,

I’m new to this entire experience, even though I do have a family member who has been an addict for many years, and still is, but was protected from it by mom for most of my life.  This situation touches home for a fair of people who are closely associated with what I am going through.

I am currently in a relationship with a guy who finished rehab in late January of 2017, so he has been clean for about 6 months, but relapsed a few weeks ago (We have been dating since late April of 2017.)  He has done it a few times, from what he has told me, and two times were in front of me.  He was not violent or anything, just quiet and lolled back and forth.  From the first time we met he was very open about how he use to be a drug addict, and since that time he has been very open and honest with me about parts of his past and when he would use.

In about the past week he has texted me saying that he is clean, is determined to stay clean, has quit smoking, and has found something else that helps with shoulder pain and gut issues, which he has had for awhile.  I researched what he told me, and what he is taking is completely clean.