Feeling hopeless...don't know what to do anymore

Hey, it's my first time posting in a forum like this but I simply don't know what to do or how to carry on without losing my sanity.
For a few years I've been dating a guy, who has a problem with drugs. What started off as recreational use (a couple of times a year), escalated into a full blown addiction in the past year.
He has entered treatment, says he is willing to drop his habit and do whatever it takes because he knows he has a problem but then on the other hand, he relapses way too frequently...for instance just yesterday he took heroin and said it finally made him feel happy for a few hours.
I dont know what to do, he never had problems with heroin before, but he seems more and more attracted to it and that worries beyond words.
So based on his action i dont know if he honestly wants to quit because he still seems to be idealizing this particular drug. I dont want to enable him, so my question is, what to do? Just let him be and hope he doesnt die in the process? Fight and beg he stops?
Any kind of insight, tips, advice would be greatly appreciated.
  • 74 Commentsby Likes|Date
  • @LonelySummer hello and welcome! I have been a member of this "community" for only a short time and you have come to the right place! I've found so much support, encouragement, and help here than anything I've ever tried. I have two posts, I encourage you to read through them both if you can find the time to do so as I am in the same place as you and there are A LOT of comments and wonderful advice throughout both of these posts that will help you (I'll post the links to my posts at the end of this)..... my husband of 5 years is an opiate addict. He just relapsed again after two years of being clean. What you are going through has been my life with my husband for the whole time we have been married. He was clean until a car accident two months before our wedding date and relapsed shortly after the wreck.