Sober for 12 days

I had been a social drinker in my 20's, carried into my 30's. I would have a drink or two during the week. When I got married and had son, I drank only on special occations and date nights with my ex husband. I had my 1st DUI a year before we decided on divorce. It seems to me now that the more I struggled with life and happiness..the more I drank. Now, divorced for 3 years..I picked that habit up ten-fold. I started going out and enjoyed the night life. I started playing pool, (I joined 2 leagues) started smoking cigarettes. This has been my life outside of work when I don't have my son. Fast forward to the end of September..I recently got my 2nd DUI. Smack. I am now on pre-trial house arrest with a SCRAM bracelet on (per my lawyer's advice, as this may ease the final punishment decisions) I basically was forced to quit drinking. At this point in my life, I was drinking almost every day. 12 days ago I said goodbye to alcohol, although it feels like one month had passed. I can't believe I didn't go through any withdrawl symptoms. The day after I would drink, in the morning I had the shakes. Since I had stopped..no more shakiness. I feel clearer. I sleep better. All is good so far. I came to this site to get some support and read what others are going through and how they are doing. The only thing I really miss is my social life. I miss pool league. I go to work, come home, and get my son on my scheduled days. That is my life right now. My moods are up and down. I do realize that this happened for a reason. It was time to wake up and start treating my body with respect. I am turning 40 this month..so this will be a journey to remember and reflect on. Looking forward to some support here and connecting with others that share alcoholism as their demon.
  • 12 Commentsby Likes|Date